“My ‘Heart Beat’ Meditation explained”

Over the years I’ve gathered that there are many, many ways to meditate or do yoga or get centered or find spirit.  As many ways as there are – there are people who need to discover a way which works for them, or several, maybe.  I offer this discovery for those who might try it and benefit.

The heart is an amazing organ.  It is a pump.  It controls the oxygen and other nutrients, which flow through the body and bathe the brain.  It is electrical by nature, and is, I believe, a missing puzzle piece to the study of Kundalini.

There has always been a debate, (especially when it comes to picking the right person to spend the rest of your life with), on whether it is best to listen to your head or your heart.  Both have merit.  Both serve a useful function.  But it is my hope, that a more balanced view comes to light when one begins to integrate heart and mind.  – And since a lot of people use their heads, mostly, to make decisions – I have decided to share this ‘Heart Beat’ meditation as a way to help people swing the balance back to the middle between the heart and the mind, by focusing some good-quality time meditating on our own hearts.

 

When I was in Woodland Hills, CA, I did a sitting meditation, where I would scoot my butt so that my legs dangled off of the bed and my spine was held in a relaxed position.  I would close my eyes and begin to focus on my breath.

In time, my breathing would slow on its own, and I would start to get that warm feeling growing upward through my body.  As the breath came in, I noticed that as relaxed as I had become, my upper body would want to rotate in circles, either clockwise or counter-clockwise.

As I became calmer and calmer and began to feel my energy sink toward my center of gravity – or right around my tummy or navel area – I noticed that the outward breath would cause my nose to whistle a little bit.  This was a bit startling at first, because I had just become so inwardly drawn and let my thoughts go, that any noise was a surprise.  At first, I didn’t even know that it was coming from me!

As time went on in my almost daily meditations, I began to pick up on a pattern:  In order to settle at a state of mind and relaxation where I would become startled when that nose-whistling thing happened; my breathing would have to slow waaaaay down.  Sometimes, even, I would find that my breathing would seem to stop for certain beats.

Beats? – Beats of my heart.  As my meditation became deeper and deeper, I would feel this rocking in my body, which, I finally figured out was coming from the beat of my heart!

For those of you who are becoming aware of the power and grace afforded by concentrating on love and the heart center….this could be an extremely rewarding meditation.

I’ve even found a way to artificially tune in to the heart and work backward to deeper levels of meditation:

Exercise.  Exercise until your heart rate is up where you can feel your pulse and the beat of your heart and then sit down, close your eyes, and start to breathe slower and slower.  Eventually, you will calm down, but because your attention had been on your heart beat, it will continue to do so, tracking that beat as it becomes softer and softer and comes less and less frequently.

Yogis have a similar training, where they cultivate that ringing in the ears some of us hear, and travel to ever softer and quieter tones or sounds.  That’s one way among many that they can locate the ever-present tone of the Universe.

 

Hope that this has helped in some way.

My best,

David Lee Madison, Jr.
~Nate – street name ,
~KnavetheMage on Twitter
 ~ZenNinja
~Nate Love
~Dreamweaver
WordPress – Synergy, KnavetheMage, suprememasterjedi
Copied from my WORD documents in Boulder, CO
Tuesday, December 10, 2013 – 3:29

3 thoughts on ““My ‘Heart Beat’ Meditation explained”

  1. […] “My ‘Heart Beat’ Meditation explained” (davidleemadison.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] “My ‘Heart Beat’ Meditation explained” (davidleemadison.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] This is the first post from this blog.  Now that I’ve done a ton of posting on Facebook; I think I’m finally ready to step up to a page of my own; even if I’m only stepping up to being hosted on WordPress at the moment!  I do have other blogs on WordPress…stuff I haven’t updated – but it ought to give you a sense of my style and what things I’m interested in.  I especially feel fond of Synergy […]

Leave a Reply

