An explanation of my very first poem, “She Came Like a Dream”

Normal
0

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

This is part of it…

 

“She came like a dream across the sea, her dress lit by the wee moon.  And the boy’s orbs filled with gloom were the only pair to see her grace and to know her so intimately.  She came like a dream across the sea, her hair flowing and oh so carefree in the moonlight striking the shore of the beach…”

 

I’ve written since I was in tenth grade; maybe even before.  Our class assignment was to write a poem that night and bring it back the next day.  I didn’t know a thing about poetry, except that it confused me.  But I gave it a try.  Part way into it, it became this very sad ballad about a boy losing a girl to suicide on the beach.  She haunts him in his later years and finally tells him that it wasn’t his fault  and that he needs to go on with the rest of his life.

 

When I got up to speak – I didn’t expect everyone to stay silent.  I thought I had done poorly by their, and our teacher’s reaction…but then the room burst into applause.  That was the first inkling that I might be writer.

 

David Lee Madison, Jr.

Nate – my street name , KnavetheMage on Twitter

~ZenNinja to others who saw me do my little ‘cat-walk’

Nate Love – my future pen name

and WordPressing it up on Synergy and Suprememasterjedi

Copied from my WORD documents in Boulder, CO

Tuesday, December 3, 201320:42

Leave a Reply

